We have upgraded the site! Click here to view the new layout.
Return to Home Page

This page was last updated 4 March, 2010

Welcome Aboard | Crew Members | Upcoming Events | Discussion & Chat | Progress Report | Ships's Store | Ship's History |
Memorial Voyage | Become A Member | Keep Us Afloat | More About Evansville | Directions to the Ship | Discount Lodging | Contact Us
Crewmembers of

The USS LST Ship Memorial


Group Photo, 22 SEP 01
Photo by Bill Kaupas (click on photo to enlarge)

Original Sailing Crew
Overseas Support Crew
Honorary Crewmembers
Board of Directors
World War II Crew
Crewmember Roster

Click Here for interviews with Crew Members!

(Click on images to enlarge)

Voyage 2005 Crewmembers

Crete to USA (2000-2001)
Original Sailing Crew

Listed below are the crewmembers  who made the final voyage from Gibraltar to Mobile, AL.  Credit is also due to those who worked on the ship in Crete and/or Gibraltar but, for various reasons, were unable to make the final voyage.  Their efforts also contributed immensely to the project.

The crew of the LST-325 gathers for a group photograph prior to leaving Crete.  Four of these crewmembers had to depart the ship prior to its arrival in Alabama (those names are noted in gray type).  Front row, from left:  George White, Clayton (Bill) Nickerson, Donald Molzahn, Ronald Maranto, James Edwards, Dewey Taylor, Robert Jornlin, Hichael Nedeff, John Calvin and Bailey Wrinkle.  Middle row, from left:  Harold Slemmons, Norval Jones, Albert White, Ernest Andrus, James McCandrew, Joe Sadlier, Raymond Mai, Richard Young, Richard Meyer and Jack Carter.  Back row, from left:  Donald Chapman, Edward Strobel, Gary Lyon, Lauren Whiting, Bruce Voges and Corbin Fowkes.  Not pictured:  James Bartlett, William Hill, Donald Lockas, Joe Milakovich, Dominick Perruso and Paul Stimpson.
Photo by Joe Milakovich, and used with permission.


Crete to USA (2000-2001) Original Sailing Crew
James Bartlett
Marble Falls, TX
Norval Jones
Auburn Hill, MI
Richard Meyer
Lincoln, NE
Paul L. Stimpson  
Lock Haven, PA
John Calvin
Dunnellon, FL
Capt. Robert Jornlin
Earlville, IL
Don Molzahn, Sr.
La Crosse, WI
Edward Strobel
Decatur, IL
Jackson R. Carter
Palos Verdes, CA
Donald K. Lockas
Marseilles, IL
Hichael Nedeff
Huber Heights, OH
Dewey L. Taylor
W. Palm Beach, FL
Donald Chapman
E. Moline, IL
Gary Lyon
Roseville, MN
Bill Nickerson
Margate, FL
Bruce Voges
Oakwood, IL
James Edwards
Canton, TX
Joseph Milakovich
Wauwatosa, WI
Dominick Perruso
Easton, PA
Albert J. White
Roswell, NM
Corbin Fowkes
New Bethlehem, PA
Ronald Maranto
Metairie, LA
Joe Sadlier
Ketchikan, AK
Lauren Whiting
Barker, NY
William "Rocky" Hill
Surprise, AZ
James F. McCandrew
Sebastian, FL
Harold Slemmons
Lone Oak, TX
Bailey M. Wrinkle
McKenzie, TN


Overseas Support Crew

The following crewmembers went overseas at their own expense to participate
in preparing LST 325 for its voyage home.  They actively participated in Crete
and/or in Gibraltar; some sailed on the ship from Crete to Gibraltar (marked *).

Andrus, Ernest * Cadigan, Thomas Chooljian, John Conway, Frank
Cook, Art Dyar, Edward Gollan, William Gouker, Richard
Gregg, Glenn * Harrison, Les K. Hart, William Holp, Fred
Hunter, Lee R. James, Lee James, Richard Liverca, Jim
Mai, Raymond * Melcher, Jack W. Michaud, John H. Pliscott, Ernest *
Reinard, William Robertson, Gerald * Schneiderman, L. White, George H. *
Whitman, Edward J. Williams, David Young, Richard * Zvonik, Roald

* Sailed on ship from Crete to Gibraltar

Honorary Crewmembers

The following individuals have been designated as Honorary
Crewmembers in gratitude for their exceptional help and
services performed on behalf of The USS LST Ship Memorial, Inc.

Kenny Adams Michael Chapman Captain Hal Pierce
Anna Adams Sean Connaughton John Pournarakis
Linda Alvers Congressman Ralph Hall Howard Ross
Jim Anderson Lois Jornlin  Priscilla Thompson-Roberts
William Arras Bill Kaupas  Daniel Waterfield
Carl Black  Peter Leasca Mike Whicker
Ambassador Nick Burns
Adna Mumford
Mayor Jonathan Weinzapfel
Susan Bloom
The Browning Family  


The USS LST Ship Memorial, Inc. Board of Directors
Congressman Ralph Hall President Emeritus
Ken Frank President
John Engstrom Vice President
Ray Rappold Secretary
Perry Ballinger Assistant Secretary
Terry Tull Treasurer
Bob Hargrove Assistant Treasurer
Chris Donahue
Robert Jornlin
Ron Bezouska

Jack Cunningham

Ex Officio Mayor's Representative


USS LST 325 Original World War II Crew

The following are surviving crewmembers from USS LST 325's
original World War II crew who have been located:

Harold Allgaier  
Casper, WY
Stan Barish
Pittsburgh, PA
Gerard Belanger
Nashua, NH
Al Binkowski
Plainsville, CT
Clester Brown
Norfolk, VA
Lander Bumgarner
Maiden, NC
Larry Cauthen
Rome, GA
Chester Conway
Hammond, IN
Ted Duning
Lewisburg, TN
Ellsworth Easterly  
Litchfield, IL
Ira Ehrensall
Boca Raton, FL
Norm Ferguson
Norfolk, VA
Frances Fischer
Delpos, OH
Ralph Gard
Munster, IN
Paul Genander
Beachwood, NJ
Jack Green
Avalon, CA
Bill Hanley
Lavallette, NJ
Leo Horton
Seneca, SC
Lloyd Jacobs
Brock, MA
Emil Kolar
Springfield, IL
Howard Kramer
Jackson, MI
Bob Lemieux
Leominster, MA
Dale MacKay  
Center Barnstead, NH
Don Martin
Fargo, ND
Richard Martin
York, PA
C. J. Mitchell
Centralia, IL
Gerry Murphy
Clay, NY
Steve Nedoroscki
Milbury, MA
Ed Nekiunas
South Windsor, CT
Walt Niewinski
Lake Grove, NY
Ernie Ninness
Holmes Beach, FL
John Roberts
Faribault, MN
 Don Roy
Chanhassen, MN
Howard Russell
Baltimore, MD
Dick Scacchetti
Sarasota, FL
Al Smith
Burleigh, NJ
Harold Westerfield
Sun City, AZ


LST 325 Crewmember Roster

Listed below are the crewmembers who have worked so hard to make the LST 325 what it is today.   These dedicated people have given of themselves at various times since the ship's arrival in January 2001, doing repair work on the ship and working hard to enable the 2003 River Trip and the 2005 WWII Memorial voyage.  Their various activities, with many pictures, have been logged on the Progress Report pages (please note that the progress reports are archived by month).  All have devoted weeks of their time (crewmember qualifications require a minimum of 80 hours of shipboard work); many have spent months at a time.  (It should be noted that virtually hundreds of others have worked hard for the ship without having met the crewmember qualifications.)  This is a crew that we can truly be proud of.  And they can most certainly take pride in themselves!



 All contents of this website are Copyright © 2001-2008 The USS LST Ship Memorial, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.   Please email the WebSkipper with comments, corrections or suggestions.